Global Partners
World Rugby Awards

Awards Roll of Honour

Awards winners 2016

World Rugby Awards 2016

Held in London, England

World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year
Beauden Barrett, New Zealand

World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year
Sarah Hunter, England

World Rugby Team of the Year
New Zealand (All Blacks)

World Rugby Coach of the Year
Steve Hansen, New Zealand

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
Maro Itoje, England

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
Seabelo Senatla, South Africa

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
Charlotte Caslick, Australia

World Rugby Referee Award
Alhambra Nievas, Spain, and Rasta Rasivhenge, South Africa

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service
Syd Millar

Award for Character
Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union

IRPA Special Merit Award
Jean de Villiers, South Africa

IRPA Try of the Year
Jamie Heaslip, Ireland

Special recognition of Olympic Games success
Australia’s women and Fiji’s men

World Rugby Hall of Fame inductees:
Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland), Shane Williams (Wales), Jeremy Guscott (England), Lawrence Dallaglio (England), Heather Moyse (Canada), John Dawes (Wales), GPS Macpherson (Scotland), Arthur Gould (Wales), Jonny Wilkinson (England), Daniel Carroll (Australia), Daisuke Ohata (Japan), Maggie Alphonsi (England)