Website language
  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • 日本語
Global Partners
World Rugby Awards

Awards Roll of Honour

Awards winners 2009

IRB Awards 2009

IRB Player of the Year
Richie McCaw (New Zealand) - Presented in Marseille on 28 November

IRB Team of the Year
South Africa - Presented in Dublin on 28 November

IRB Coach of the Year
Declan Kidney (Ireland) - Presented in Dublin on 28 November

IRB Junior Player of the Year
Aaron Cruden (New Zealand) - Presented in Tokyo on 21 June

IRB Sevens Player of the Year
Ollie Phillips (England) - Presented in Edinburgh on 31 May

Spirit of Rugby Award
L'Aquila Rugby Club - Presented in L'Aquila on 11 September

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service
Noel Murphy - Presented at IRB General Assembly in Dublin on 30 November

IRB Referee Award for Distinguished Service
Francis Palmade - Presented at IRB High Performance Referees Conference on 10 November

IRB International Women's Personality of the Year
Debby Hodgkinson - Presented in Apia, Samoa on 7 August

IRB Development Award
Lin Chia-Sheng - Presented at IRB General Assembly in Dublin on 30 November

IRPA Try of the Year
Jaque Fourie (South Africa v British & Irish Lions) - Presented in Cape Town on 6 March, 2010

IRB Hall of Fame inductees
William E. Maclagan (Scotland and British), Barry H. Heatlie (South Africa), Benjamin L. Osler (South Africa), Clifford I. Morgan (Wales and Lions), Sir Anthony J.F. O'Reilly A.O (Ireland and Lions), Frederick C.H. du Preez (South Africa), Dr Sydney Millar CBE (Ireland and Lions), William J. McBride (Ireland and Lions), Ian R. McGeechan (Scotland and Lions) - Inducted at Rugby School on 27 October