Website language
  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • 日本語
Global Partners

20-22 and 28-30 April 2023

Sevens Challenger Series 2023

Stellenbosch, South Africa on 20-22 and 28-30 April.
The 12-team men’s and women’s competitions replicate the Olympic Games format

World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series 2022

Sevens Challenger Series 2023

12 women’s teams

Belgium, China, Colombia, Czechia, Hong Kong, Madagascar, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Poland, South Africa, Thailand, and a team from South America yet to be confirmed.

The winner of the 12-team women’s Challenger Series will gain the ultimate prize of automatic promotion to the Sevens World Series 2024 – the pinnacle of international rugby sevens.

12 men teams

Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Jamaica, Korea, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

The winner of the men’s Challenger Series, which also features 12 teams, will enter a four team play-off at the HSBC London Sevens in May 2023 together with the teams placed 12th-14th after ten rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, with the winner of the play-off achieving Sevens World Series 2024 status.


Latest News