Sign up for the latest news and ticket information.
Sign Up
Turf Banner 3

Scoring points

Beginner's Guide - Scoring points

Scoring points

There are four main ways to score points in the game of rugby. 

Try - 5 points

A try is scored when the ball is grounded over the opponents’ goal-line in the in-goal area.

A penalty try can be awarded if a player would have scored a try but for foul play by the opposition. A penalty try is now worth seven points with no conversion attempted.

Penalty - 3 points

When awarded a penalty after an infringement by the opposition, a team may choose to kick at goal.

Conversion - 2 points

After scoring a try, that team can attempt to add two further points by kicking the ball over the crossbar and between the posts from a place in line with where the try was scored. 

The conversion kick can be taken either as a place kick (from the ground) or a drop kick. In rugby sevens, due to the amount of time available for the conversion, drop kicks are taken, as shown in the video opposite. 

Drop goal - 3 points

A drop goal is scored when a player kicks for goal in open play by dropping the ball onto the ground and kicking it on the half-volley.



Newsletter Sign Up

Newsletter Sign Up

Managing Cookies on the World.Rugby website

We use cookies to help make our sites function properly. We would also like to use cookies to continually improve our sites, offer you a better experience and deliver personalised content to you. Our use of cookies is described further in our Cookies Policy.

You can enable all optional cookies by clicking “Accept All Cookies”. You can also choose to adjust your cookie settings and select to have only necessary cookies and the cookies you wish to be deployed to be used.

Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.