The Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, has taken place every four years since then. The most recent Games were held on the Gold Coast, Australia from 4-15 April, 2018 and the next are to be held in Birmingham, England from 28 July-8 August, 2022.

Rugby sevens was first played in the Commonwealth Games in 1998 with the inclusion of a men’s competition, in which New Zealand defeated Fiji to take the gold medal. The inaugural women’s rugby sevens competition took place in 2018 when New Zealand beat Australia in the final.

Birmingham 2022

The 2022 Commonwealth Games, officially known as the XXII Commonwealth Games and commonly known as Birmingham 2022, is an international multi-sport event for members of the Commonwealth scheduled to be held in Birmingham, England.

Seventy-two nations currently participate in the Commonwealth Games. There are only six nations who have participated in every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Australia have been the highest achieving team for 13 Games, England for seven, and Canada for one.

Nineteen cities in nine countries have hosted the event. Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games five times, the most of any nation (1938, 1962, 1982, 2006 and 2018).