Website language
English
  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • 日本語
Global Partners
Medical Banner 11

Independent Concussion Consultation

Independent Concussion Consultation

World Rugby employed Independent Concussion Consultants (ICC) at RWC 2015 and 2019, where it was well received by team doctors.

World Rugby employed Independent Concussion Consultants (ICC) at RWC 2015 and 2019, where it was well received by team doctors. The process was introduced to support team doctors when a concussed player recovered quickly and was expected to return to play before the next game. A recent meeting of the World Rugby concussion working group has agreed to extend the use of an ICC across the elite game.

The Concussion Working Group has agreed to introduce this process to all Tournaments using the HIA and to expand this process to cover players who may be at higher risk for a complicated recovery or recurrence (following concussion) than their teammates and possibly require an extended return to play. Medical teams may stratify these players’ risk based on their clinical and concussion history. 

List of approved Independent Concussion Consultants 

Name
Country
Language
Email
Jon Patricios South Africa English jpat@mweb.co.za 
Tony Belli England English/Italian a.belli@bham.ac.uk 
Richard Sylvester England English richard.sylvester@nhs.net 
Michael Makdissi Australia English mmakd@bigpond.net.au 
John Martin Wales English john.martin3@wales.nhs.uk 
Eddie McCaig Fiji English vaigalo_e@yahoo.com
Hamish Kerr USA English kerrh@mail.amc.edu
Philippe Decq France French / English philippe.decq@aphp.fr 
Haruhiko Sato Japan Japanese / English jojosato@sis.seirei.or.jp 
Richard Kim USA English richardkim300@gmail.com 
Prof. Roberto Vagnozzi Italy Italian vagnozzi@uniroma2.it 
Fernando Salvat Argentina Spanish fsalvat@fleni.org.ar 
Mike England New Zealand English mike.england@nzrugby.co.nz 
Stephen Kara New Zealand English stephenkara1965@gmail.com
Ian Murphy New Zealand English Ian.Murphy@wdhb.org.nz
Tony Page New Zealand English tony.page@fortesports.co.nz 
Deb Robinson New Zealand English rugby@aspiresportsphysician.co.nz 
James McGarvey New Zealand English james.mcgarvey@nzrugby.co.nz
Steve Smith New Zealand English steve@vmc.co.nz 
Dr Pierre Viviers  South Africa English plviviers@sun.ac.za
Alan Rankin Ireland English alanrankin@doctors.org.uk
Martin McConaghy Ireland English mdmcconaghy@hotmail.com
Geoff Davies Wales English gfdavies@wru.wales
Valentina Vanessa Re Italy Italian valentinare.doc@gmail.com
Leigh Gordon South Africa English leigh@cape-sportsmed.com 
Hiren Patel England English hpatel@concussionclinic.co.uk
Dan Healy Ireland English danhealy@beaumont.ie
John Rogers England English jrogers7@nhs.net 
Éanna Falvey Ireland English eanna.falvey@worldrugby.org 
Martin Raftery Australia English martin.raftery@worldrugby.org
Christopher Royce Levi Australia English Christopher.Levi@health.nsw.gov.au
Paul Bloomfield Australia English pbloom14@bigpond.com
Corey Cunningham Australia English corey.cunningham@me.com
Ryan Kohler Australia English info@headsmart.me


Details of the protocol are available in seven languages. For French, Spanish and Japanese, please select that language at the top of the page. Doctors requesting an ICC review must complete the ICC referral form and follow the instructions detailed.