Website language
  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • 日本語
Global Partners
Equipment Banner 8

Awards and Hall of Fame

World Rugby Awards and Hall of Fame

The annual World Rugby Awards are traditionally held every November as the curtain begins to fall on another year of international rugby.

Categories range from Men’s and Women’s 15s and Sevens Players of the Year to Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and the Referee Award with star-studded panels voting for each one.

World Rugby Awards Special Edition - watch the whole show
Re-live the World Rugby Awards Special Edition and find out the winners of the Player, Try and Team of the Decade 2010-19 for both men and women, plus celebrate rugby's heroes of COVID-19.

The Awards, though, do not only reflect on-field performance as individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the game are also honoured through the Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service and the Award for Character. 

In 2020, because of the impact of COVID-19, the spotlight was shone on members of the rugby family who showcased solidarity during the pandemic, supporting their communities and getting involved in the relief effort.

Hall of Fame

The World Rugby Hall of Fame celebrates rugby’s proud history and the great players and moments that have defined the sport. A physical World Rugby Hall of Fame was opened in November 2016, located in the heart of England in the town of Rugby, the birthplace of the game. 

The first inductees to the Hall of Fame were announced in 2006 in William Webb Ellis and Rugby School and by the end of 2020 almost 150 legends of the game have been honoured for their contributions to the game.