Global Partners


Regional Association: Sudamérica Rugby

Formed as the Confederación Sudamericana de Rugby (CONSUR) on 14 October, 1988 by five unions (Argentina, Paraguay, Chile, Brazil and Uruguay)

Full Member Unions: 9

Associate Member Unions: 2

Rugby in South America has grown significantly from the days of the first regional championship in 1951 when only a men’s competition existed and was played mostly at two-year intervals. In the last decade the number of tournaments in a year grew to 12, with three divisions of the men's senior championship, age-grade competitions and competitions for men’s and women’s rugby sevens.

The association was renamed Sudamérica Rugby in 2015 and continues to grow the game with education and programmes such as Get Into Rugby at the centre of this expansion. There is also a desire to engage regularly with Rugby Americas North.

With Argentina's men continuing to be flag-bearers for the region by reaching the RWC 2015 semi-finals, the region’s first Olympic Games in Brazil opened the sport to a new audience. Colombia’s women also performed heroics to qualify for that first Olympic event, creating heros over night.

Union de Rugby del Paraguay
  • Membership Status

    Full Member

  • Affiliated

    Apr 1989

  • Official Website URL

  • Official Email Contact

  • Official Address

    Medallistas Olimpicos 01 Parque Olimpico Luque, Luque, 2060

  • Phone Number

    595 994977739