Trinidad & Tobago put in a performance full of passion and pride to see off the organised challenge of Mexico and run out 30-16 winners to claim the 2015 NACRA Championship title.

The victory in Port of Spain ensures that the trophy heads to a fourth different country in as many years, with Bermuda, USA South and Guyana having won the previous four editions.

It is Trinidad and Tobago's first senior NACRA men’s title since 2008 and is much-deserved following their earlier win against defending champions Guyana.

Newly-promoted Mexico had themselves performed heroics to reach this stage with victory over the Cayman Islands, but from the early stages they came under attack from the free-running T&T backs. After a tight first half hour, Trinidad & Tobago cut loose to score 10 unanswered points, and a penalty try awarded late in the half for a dangerous tackle sent them in at the break with a 23-6 lead. 

In the second half Mexico rallied and scored two tries to cut the deficit to just seven points with 15 minutes remaining, but with five minutes left on the clock dangerous centre Agboola Silverthorn dodged into space and ran fully 60 metres for the try that clinched the championship.


Trinidad & Tobago 30-16 Mexico

North Zone Championship League

Cayman Islands 3 Mexico 24
USA South 25-50 Mexico
USA South 24-25 Cayman Islands

North Zone Cup League

Turks and Caicos Islands 3-55 Bermuda
Bahamas 21-15 Bermuda
Turks and Caicos Islands 7-24 Bahamas

South Zone Championship League

Trinidad & Tobago 22-20 Guyana
Barbados 22-48 Guyana
Barbados 7-44 Trinidad and Tobago

South Zone Cup League

St Lucia 19-36 Curacao
St Lucia 14 British Virgin Islands 22
St Vincent & The Grenadines24-24 Curacao
St Lucia 8-16 St Vincent & The Grenadines
St Vincent & The Grenadines 15-22 BVI