TOKYO, 10 Oct - Robbie Henshaw will make his first start at Rugby World Cup 2019 in Ireland's crucial Pool A match against Samoa on Saturday.

The Leinster centre, pictured, who was injured in training shortly after arriving in Japan, will line up alongside Bundee Aki at Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium in the only game of three on Saturday to survive cancellation because of Typhoon Hagibis.

Henshaw's inclusion is one of 11 changes made by coach Joe Schmidt from the Irish starting XV who beat Russia 35-0 in their previous match. 

Ireland's front row of Cian Healy, Rory Best and Tadhg Furlong have been selected together for the 16th time - a record for any front row in matches since Rugby World Cup 2015, the Irish trio moving ahead of France's Jefferson Poirot, Guilhem Guirado and Rabah Slimani.

Best plays his 14th RWC match for Ireland, and captains the side for the 37th time.

Scrum-half Conor Murray and fly-half Johnny Sexton start together for Ireland for the 55th time, equalling the all-time record for their nation, while Jordan Larmour gets the nod at full-back over Rob Kearney.

A bonus-point victory for Ireland would put them top of Pool A.


1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best (capt.)
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Iain Henderson
5. James Ryan
6. Tadhg Beirne
7. Josh Van der Flier
8. CJ Stander
9. Conor Murray
10. Johnny Sexton
11. Jacob Stockdale
12. Bundee Aki
13. Robbie Henshaw
14. Keith Earls
15. Jordan Larmour

16. Niall Scannell
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Andrew Porter
19. Jean Kleyn
20. Peter O'Mahony
21. Luke McGrath
22. Joey Carbery
23. Andrew Conway

RNS ae/sdg/pp