Argentina second-row Tomás Lavanini received a red card for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.13 (dangerous tackle) in Argentina’s Rugby World Cup 2019 match against England on 5 October.

Lavanini attended a disciplinary hearing in Tokyo on 7 October before an independent judicial panel chaired by Adam Casselden SC (Australia) with former international coach Frank Hadden (Scotland) and former international referee Donal Courtney (Ireland).

Lavanini admitted the act of foul play and accepted that it warranted a red card. He accepted that given his previous disciplinary record he was not entitled to the full 50 per cent discount from the six-game entry point.

Having considered all the evidence and after hearing from the player and his legal representative, the panel imposed a sanction of four matches.

The player will miss Argentina’s remaining pool match against USA on 9 October and his new club Leicester Tigers’ next three matches. He is free to play from 28 October.

The short form decision is here and the full written decision can be read here when available.