The world’s top five teams will gather in San Diego in June and July for a round-robin Super Series that promises to showcase the best that women’s international 15s has to offer.

Kicking off for the first time in three years and increasing from four to five teams, the Super Series will feature world number one New Zealand, Six Nations Grand Slam winners England, Canada, France and USA.

The tournament was last hosted by USA in 2016 where Canada won the title and England claimed the runners-up for the second consecutive year.

Hosted in partnership with World Rugby, the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 serves as a meaningful step in generating more exposure for the women’s game and providing its top performers with much-needed playing time.

Shop window

With teams all playing each other once, the event will bring 10 test matches to a growing population of rugby fans in southern California.

Overall, two games will be played per day on 26 June, 2 July, 6 July, 10 July 10 and 14 July allowing both teams and fans multiple opportunities to experience high level competition.

Each team will use one match date as a bye with the first four rounds taking place at the Elite Athlete Training Centre – also the training site for the USA women’s and men’s sevens teams – and the final round on 14 July happening at Torero Stadium.

“We are very excited about the opportunity to host the return of the Women’s Super Series,” said USA Rugby's General Manager of Women’s High Performance, Emilie Bydwell.

“The timing of the event, duration, number of games and quality of competition aligns with our goals for the women’s national team. Further, World Rugby’s support and investment in this competition speaks volumes of their commitment to improving high performance competition structures and quality of the top-end product of the women’s game. This will arguably be one of the biggest events in women’s rugby in 2019 and having USA as the host will generate a positive impact for our programme, players and community.”

Targeted investment

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont added: “As part of the women’s strategic plan, accelerating the global development of women in rugby, one of the key strands is to increase the competitiveness of international rugby across the women’s game. As part of the plan, World Rugby’s high performance programme is committed to providing targeted investment and support in order to achieve this long-term objective.

“The Women’s Rugby Super Series is a fantastic competition that offers more quality playing opportunities and is set to be a thrilling tournament, where we look forward to the top five women’s international 15s teams compete for the Super Series title this summer.” 

Match timings and ticket information for the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 will be announced in due course. In the meantime, fans can sign up to be included in USA Rugby’s event pre-sale list at

Canada take on New Zealand and England play the United States in the opening round with France receiving a bye. If the Super Series goes according to the rankings, the competition will conclude with a title showdown between New Zealand and England on 14 July.

Women's Rugby Super Series schedule

28 June: Canada v New Zealand / England v USA
2 July: France v Canada / New Zealand v USA
6 July: France v New Zealand / Canada v England
10 July: England v France / Canada v USA 
14 July: France v USA / New Zealand v England