Australia Sevens coach Michael O'Connor has named an 11th newcover, Nicholas Phipps, in his wider squad to compete in this season's IRB Sevens World Series, and has included the Sydney University youngster in his first 12-man select to compete in Dubai on 4-5 December.

Half back Nicholas Phipps has been called into the Australian Sevens team as a replacement for injured playmaker James Stannard, who has been ruled out of the opening two tournaments of the IRB Sevens World Series with a hamstring tear.

Experienced utility back Brian Sefanaia is also in a race to be fit for Dubai after sustaining a slight, grade one calf injury.

As he did last year, former union and league test international O'Connor has looked to the country's youth for his Sevens programmem. Full back Zack Holmes, utility back Ed Quirk, playmaker Jacob Taylor and Phipps are all set to make their debuts in Dubai, alongside regular Brian Sefanaia and captain Patrick McCutcheon.

Quirk is the youngest member of the Australian squad at 18. He was snapped up by the Queensland Reds Academy after showcasing his talent in 2008 while representing Queensland and Australia as a Schoolboy.

The newly-awarded Olympic status will amplify the carnival and colour of the IRB's eight-leg tournament as spectators are treated to a feast of fast and flamboyant Rugby awash with tries.

Proven Wallaby breeding ground

Sevens is increasingly a breeding ground for future Wallabies and, as well as vying to earn a place to contest the team's home leg on the World Series in Adelaide, O'Connor's players will also be bidding to follow in the footsteps of the likes of James O'Connor and most recently Luke Morahan.

Former Sevens star Morahan was called into the Wallabies squad last week and is the third Spring Tour squad member to emerge from the Sevens circuit in the last 12 months.

Uncapped scrum half Richard Kingi was already a surprise call-up to Robbie Deans' squad, while O'Connor also cut his teeth in the shortened version of the game.

In all, Morahan is the ninth member of the current Australian squad to have successfully made their way through to the Wallabies via the Sevens programme, following the likes of Matt Giteau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Peter Hynes, Drew Mitchell, Richard Brown and Matt Hodgson.

Following the first tournament in Dubai, Australia will play in George (South Africa), Wellington, Las Vegas, then return home for the Adelaide leg before jetting off to play in Hong Kong, London and Scotland.

Tickets to the Adelaide tournament go on sale Wednesday 25 November, available from ticketek.

Australian Sevens Team for Dubai: Robbie Coleman, Bernard Foley, Shaun Foley, Talalelei Gray, Zack Holmes, Brackin Karauria-Henry, Patrick McCutcheon (captain), Nicholas Phipps, Edward Quirk, Brian Sefanaia, Clinton Sills, Jacob Taylor.

Australian Sevens 18-man squad for the IRB Sevens World Series: Willie Bishop, Robbie Coleman, Mitchell Felsman, Bernard Foley, Shaun Foley, Liam Gill, Talalelei Gray, Zack Holmes, Ed Jenkins, Brackin Karauria-Henry, Patrick McCutcheon (captain), Nicholas Phipps, Edward Quirk, Brian Sefanaia, Dominic Shipperley, Clinton Sills, Kimami Situati, Jacob Taylor