Today marks 100 days to go until the second edition of WXV kicks off in Canada, South Africa and Dubai, and excitement is building.

Following the conclusion of regional qualification, we know the identity of the 18 teams who will compete in the three levels of World Rugby’s annual global women’s 15s competition, between 27 September – 12 October.

England will defend the WXV 1 title they won in New Zealand last November when Vancouver hosts the top level having claimed a sixth successive Women’s Six Nations crown in April.

The Red Roses will be joined in Vancouver, Canada by the hosts – who qualified as World Rugby Pacific Four Series 2024 champions – France, Ireland, New Zealand and USA.

Scott Bemand’s Ireland make the step up from WXV 3, which they won, following their third-place finish in this year’s Guinness Women’s Six Nations. The top level will be played at BC Place and Langley Events Centre.

Reigning WXV 2 champions Scotland will also put their title on the line in South Africa’s Western Cape as the second level is contested at DHL Stadium and Athlone Stadium.

Scotland narrowly missed out on a place in WXV 1 to Ireland and will instead head to South Africa with the hosts, Italy, who were runners-up on points difference in 2023, Japan and Australia.

Meanwhile, the winner of the play-off between Wales and Spain at Cardiff Arms Park on 29 June will also qualify for WXV 2, with the loser competing in WXV 3.

As a result of Samoa’s sixth-place finish in the inaugural WXV 2 standings, Oceania will have two teams competing in the third level this September and October.

Those places were taken by Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship 2024 winners Fiji and the Manusina as runners-up. The Pacific rivals will be joined at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai by three tournament debutants in Hong Kong China, Madagascar and the Netherlands, who won a qualification play-off against Colombia in March.

Nine of the 18 nations have already booked their tickets to Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 but with six places up for grabs through WXV 2024 there is added importance to this year’s competition.

It’s all to play for with the top six non-qualified teams at the end of WXV 2024 earning their place at next year’s showpiece tournament which is set to take place across England between 22 August – 27 September, 2025.

Hosts England, defending champions New Zealand, Canada, France, Ireland, USA, Japan, South Africa and Fiji are already certain of their place at Women’s RWC 2025. The race is on to join them.

Stay tuned to World Rugby channels in the coming weeks for the match schedule reveal and ticketing announcements for all three levels of WXV 2024.

Find out more about WXV 2024 here.