Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named the 23 players to face South Africa in Pool B at Stade de France on Saturday, 23 September, with back-row Peter O'Mahony winning his 100th test cap and centre Bundee Aki earning his 50th.

1 Andrew Porter
2 Ronan Kelleher
3 Tadhg Furlong
4 Tadhg Beirne
5 James Ryan
6 Peter O'Mahony
7 Josh van der Flier
8 Caelan Doris
9 Jamison Gibson-Park
10 Johnny Sexton (c)
11 James Lowe
12 Bundee Aki
13 Garry Ringrose
14 Mack Hansen
15 Hugo Keenan

16 Dan Sheehan
17 Dave Kilcoyne
18 Finlay Bealham
19 Iain Henderson
20 Ryan Baird
21 Conor Murray
22 Jack Crowley
23 Robbie Henshaw

  • Peter O’Mahony will bring up a century of test caps following his 98 caps for Ireland and one for the British and Irish Lions.
  • Jamison Gibson-Park replaces Conor Murray at scrum-half in the only change to the starting XV that took on Tonga. Murray takes Craig Casey’s place among the replacements. 
  • Eleven of the players who started Ireland’s 19-16 win over South Africa in their last meeting in Dublin in November 2022 are once again included in the run-on team (props Andrew Porter and Tadhg Furlong, second-rows Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan, back-rowers Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris, fly-half Johnny Sexton, centre Garry Ringrose, winger Mack Hansen – on the left wing rather than the right - and full-back Hugo Keenan).
  • Johnny Sexton became Ireland’s record points scorer (1,090 points) when he scored a try in the 38th minute of the round two 59-16 win against Tonga. The previous record holder, Ronan O’Gara, achieved his 1,083 points in 128 tests for Ireland whereas Sexton has got to his milestone in just 115.
  • Bundee Aki is bidding to become the first centre to finish the tournament as top try-scorer. He currently leads the way with four.
  • As a combination, Aki and outside-centre Garry Ringrose have proved to be a formidable force. Ireland have won 18 of the 22 tests they have started together.