Portugal head coach Patrice Lagisquet has named his 23-man squad for the Pool C match against Georgia at Stadium de Toulouse on Saturday, with two changes to his forwards and two in the backs from the starting XV that lost 28-8 against Wales. 

1 Francisco Fernandes
2 Mike Tadjer
3 Diogo Hasse Ferreira
4 José Madeira
5 Steevy Cerqueira
6 João Granate
7 Nicolas Martins
8 Rafael Simões
9 Samuel Marques
10 Jerónimo Portela
11 Rodrigo Marta
12 Tomás Appleton (c)
13 Pedro Bettencourt
14 Raffaele Storti
15 Nuno Sousa Guedes

16 David Costa
17 Lionel Campergue
18 Anthony Alves
19 Martim Belo
20 David Wallis
21 Thibault de Freitas
22 Pedro Lucas
23 Manuel Cardoso Pinto

  • Diogo Hasse Ferreira replaces Anthony Alves in the front-row while José Madeira comes into the second-row in place of Martim Belo.
  • In the back-line, Pedro Bettencourt replaces José Lima at outside-centre and Raffaele Storti replaces Vincent Pinto on the right wing.
  • There are 15 survivors in the match-day team from the side that lost the 2023 Rugby Europe Championship final against Georgia.
  • In Portugal's last game, Nicolas Martins became only the fifth Portuguese player to score a Rugby World Cup try. Four of their five all-time scorers have been forwards, with Pedro Carvalho Cabral the only back-line player crossing against Scotland at Saint-Étienne in 2007.
  • Nuno Sousa Guedes was dangerous with ball in hand against Wales, making a team-high 106m including 78m past the gain-line from 12 carries, one line break and also beating two defenders.
  • Tomás Appleton scored Portugal’s only try against Georgia in the 2023 Rugby Europe Championship final.