Head coach Seilala Mapusua goes with continuity with his Samoa team to play Argentina in Pool D in Saint-Étienne on Friday, with only two changes to his forwards and one change in his backs from the team that defeated Chile in their last game.

1. James Lay
2 Seilala Lam
3 Paul Alo-Emile
4 Brian Alainu'u'ese
5 Chris Vui (c)
6 Theo McFarland
7 Fritz Lee
8 Steven Luatua
9 Jonathan Taumateine
10 Christian Leali'ifano
11 Ben Lam
12 Tumua Manu
13 Ulupano Junior Seuteni
14 Nigel Ah-Wong
15 Duncan Paia'aua

16 Sama Malolo
17 Charlie Faumuina
18 Michael Alaalatoa
19 Taleni Junior Agaese Seu
20 Sa Jordan Taufua
21 Melani Matavao
22 Alai D'Angelo Leuila
23 Danny Toala

  • Head coach Vaovasamanaia Seilala Mapusua has made three changes to his starting XV from the team that defeated Chile 43-10 in their last game. Paul Alo-Emile comes into the front-row, Brian Alainu’u’ese into the second-row, and Ben Lam onto the wing.
  • Three players in this match-day team bring with them test experience from other countries, with Steven Luatua and Charlie Faumuina earning 15 and 50 caps for the All Blacks respectively, and Christian Leali’ifano 26 tests for the Wallabies. 
  • Five players in this team play together for Moana Pasifika in Super Rugby: Nigel Ah-Wong, Christian Leali’ifano, Jonathan Taumateine, Danny Toala, and Alai D’Angelo Leuila.
  • Duncan Paia’aua is the only player to have played every minute for Samoa this year across all five tests. He is currently on a three-game try-scoring run, after crossing just once across his first four tests for Samoa.
  • Theo McFarland did not miss a tackle against Chile, completing all 14 attempts.
  • Chris Vui will captain the team for the 12th time in his career, and third time at the Rugby World Cup after their pool victory against Russia in 2019 and last week against Chile.