Head coach Pablo Lemoine has named his Chile match-day 23 to face Samoa in Pool D at Stade de Bordeaux on Saturday, 16 September, with Santiago Pedrero (pictured) and Pabo Huete coming in to the team to form a new second-row.

1 Javier Carrasco
2 Tomas Dussaillant
3 Matias Dittus
4 Pablo Huete
5 Santiago Pedrero
6 Martín Sigren (c)
7 Clemente Saavedra
8 Raimundo Martínez
9 Marcelo Torrealba
10 Rodrigo Fernandez
11 José Ignacio Larenas
12 Matias Garafulic
13 Domingo Saavedra
14 Santiago Videla
15 Inaki Ayarza


16 Diego Escobar
17 Salvador Lues
18 Esteban Inostroza
19 Javier Eissmann
20 Alfonso Escobar
21 Ignacio Silva
22 Benjamin Videla
23 Pablo Casas 

  • Head coach Pablo Lemoine has made four changes to his starting XV from their loss to Japan in Toulouse, with Tomás Dussaillant coming in at hooker, a new second-row pairing of Santiago Pedrero and Pabo Huete, and José Ignacio Larenas starting on the left wing. 
  • Tomás Dussaillant will make his Rugby World Cup debut seven years after making his international debut for Chile against Brazil in 2016.
  • Inaki Ayarza has made the most linebreaks (8) and beaten the most defenders for Chile (30) this season, including a team-high two linebreaks and six defenders beaten last game.
  • Marcelo Torrealba made two linebreak assists against Japan last game, creating space for Inaki Ayarza and Matias Garafulic to break the defensive line.
  • With ball in hand, he made a team-high 17 carries, and the second-most gain-line metres with 59, while also beating the second-most defenders (3). 
  • Raimundo Martinez made a team-high 11 tackles against Japan, and one breakdown steal.  His work-rate at the ruck saw him make a team-high 32 entries, with 25 on attack and seven on defence.