South Africa head coach Jacques Nienaber has announced his match-day 23 for the World Cup holders' game against Scotland in Marseille on Sunday.

1 Steven Kitshoff
2 Malcolm Marx
3 Frans Malherbe
4 Eben Etzebeth
5 Franco Mostert
6 Siya Kolisi (c)
7 Pieter-Steph Du Toit
8 Jasper Wiese
9 Faf de Klerk
10 Manie Libbok
11 Cheslin Kolbe
12 Damian de Allende
13 Jesse Kriel
14 Kurt-Lee Arendse
15 Damian Willemse


16 Mbongeni Mbonambi
17 Ox Nche
18 Trevor Nyakane
19 RG Snyman
20 Marco van Staden
21 Duane Vermeulen
22 Grant Williams
23 Willie Le Roux

  • Faf de Klerk will win his 50th cap for the Springboks. He is the third most capped South Africa scrum-half behind Joost van der Westhuizen and Fourie du Preez.
  • South Africa have made just one change to their starting pack to the one that took on New Zealand at Twickenham - Jasper Wiese comes in for Duane Vermeulen at number eight for his fourth start of the year.
  • Cheslin Kolbe comes in on the left wing for Makazole Mapimpi
  • Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel are reunited in the midfield. It will be the ninth time they have played as a partnership since RWC 2019.