England head coach Steve Borthwick has named his match-day 23 to face Argentina in Marseille on Saturday. Alex Mitchell, who wasn't in the original World Cup squad, starts at scrum-half.

1 Ellis Genge
2 Jamie George
3 Dan Cole
4 Maro Itoje
5 Ollie Chessum
6 Courtney Lawes (c)
7 Tom Curry
8 Ben Earl
9 Alex Mitchell
10 George Ford
11 Elliot Daly
12 Manu Tuilagi
13 Joe Marchant
14 Jonny May
15 Freddie Steward


16 Theo Dan
17 Joe Marler
18 Will Stuart
19 David Ribbans
20 Lewis Ludlam
21 Danny Care
22 Marcus Smith
23 Ollie Lawrence 

  • Head coach Steve Borthwick has named 14 players with Rugby World Cup experience in his match-day 23, including 11 in the starting XV, seven of whom started the 2019 final.
  • There are nine players with more than 50 caps to their name, including two of England’s five all-time centurions.
  • This will be England’s first Rugby World Cup match without Owen Farrell since his international debut in 2012.
  • Captain Courtney Lawes earned his 100th England cap last game against Fiji, and will lead the team in a Rugby World Cup match for the first time.
  • Courtney Lawes and Dan Cole will play a joint-record fourth Rugby World Cup for England, joining Jason Leonard, Jonny Wilkinson.
  • Alex Mitchell starts at scrum-half, having not been named in England’s original World Cup squad and only making his first start in England’s last game, a loss to Fiji.