Scotland have replaced injured hooker Stuart McInally with the uncapped Johnny Matthews in their 33-man squad for Rugby World Cup 2023.

Former captain McInally, who had himself been called up as an injury replacement for Dave Cherry earlier in the tournament, suffered a neck injury in training in the lead-up to Scotland's second Pool B match against Tonga in Nice on Sunday, 24 September.

"We are disappointed to see him go but it's a huge opportunity for Johnny Matthews, who was in great form last season with Glasgow," said Scotland forwards coach John Dalziel. 


Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps*
WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps*
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps
Javan Sebastian (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps

Rory Sutherland (Unattached) 25 caps

Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps
Johnny Matthews (Glasgow Warriors) 0 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 37 caps*

Second row
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps*
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 64 caps**
Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 75 caps**

Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 27 caps

Flanker / Number 8

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps
Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps
Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 42 caps*
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 58 caps*


George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps*
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 63 caps*

Ben White (RC Toulon) 15 caps

Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps

Finn Russell (Bath Rugby) 71 caps**

Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 43 caps*
Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 38 caps
Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 7 caps

Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps

Wing / full back

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 35 caps*
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 46 caps*
Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 12 caps
Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 30 caps

(*denotes past Rugby World Cup selection)

Johnny Matthews (in bold) replaces Stuart McInally

Players replaced from original squad of 33: Dave Cherry