Argentina head coach Michael Cheika has replaced injured back-row Pablo Matera with Lucas Paulos in their 33-man Rugby World Cup squad.

Matera, who started three matches, tore his hamstring in Argentina's final Pool D game against Japan and has subsequently been ruled out of the tournament.

Argentina lost their opening pool match against England 27-10 but recovered to beat Samoa 19-10, Chile 59-5 and Japan 39-27.

They will play Wales in the quarter-finals in Marseille on Saturday,  14 October.

Changes to the squad are in bold.



Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Joel Sclavi, Thomas Gallo, Eduardo Bello


Julián Montoya, Agustín Creevy, Ignacio Ruiz.

Second Row

Matías Alemanno, Tomás Lavanini, Guido Petti.

Back row

Facundo Isa, Lucas Paulos, Juan Martín González, Santiago Grondona, Marcos Kremer, Pedro Rubiolo, Rodrigo Bruni.



Gonzalo Bertranou, Lautaro Bazán Vélez, Tomás Cubelli


Santiago Carreras, Nicolás Sánchez.


Santiago Chocobares, Lucio Cinti, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Matías Moroni.

Wing / full-back

Emiliano Boffelli, Juan Cruz Mallía, Mateo Carreras, Juan Imhoff, Rodrigo Isgró, Martín Bogado.


Players ruled out because of injury: Pablo Matera.