A first home defeat to Scotland since 1983 set the tone for a disappointing men’s Six Nations Championship for England twelve months ago.

Subsequent defeats to Wales and Ireland ensured that Eddie Jones’ side – who had started the tournament as defending champions – finished the campaign in fifth.

However, England have since embarked on a five-match winning run that culminated in a 27-26 defeat of Rugby World Cup 2019 winners South Africa in November.

They will therefore head into this year’s Championship in high spirits as they attempt to regain the title.

Scotland v England, Murrayfield, 5 February (Kick-off: 16:45 GMT)

England went into last season’s Six Nations without a couple of key players due to injury but full of confidence as defending champions.

Their title defence hit a stumbling block on the opening weekend, though, as Scotland came to Twickenham and won there for the first time in 38 years.

Scotland have lost just one of four Calcutta Cup matches under Gregor Townsend and will want to start their campaign on a high in front of a packed Murrayfield, against an England team missing captain Owen Farrell.

But they will be wary that England’s sole victory in the fixture since 2018 came in Edinburgh.

Italy v England, Stadio Olimpico, 13 February (KO: 15:00 GMT)

Italy provide the opposition for England in round two, as they did 12 months ago, looking for their first victory in the fixture.

Since the teams played out a 15-15 draw in a non-test match at Stadio Olimpico in 1986, the nations have met 28 times – 22 of which came in the Six Nations – with England winning on each occasion.

On their last visit to Rome, in October 2020, Ben Youngs ran in two of his side’s five tries as England won 34-5 to seal the Championship on points difference from France.

England v Wales, Twickenham, 26 February (KO: 16:45 GMT)

Following the rest week, England welcome Wales to Twickenham, where they haven’t lost to their old rivals since a damaging defeat at Rugby World Cup 2015.

England have won five successive home matches against Wales since then, scoring three tries and withstanding a late fight back to seal a 33-30 victory during the 2020 Six Nations.

Eddie Jones’ side will want to avenge last season’s 40-24 defeat in Cardiff, however, in which Josh Adams, Liam Williams, Kieran Hardy and Cory Hill touched down for the eventual champions.

England v Ireland, Twickenham, 12 March (KO: 16:45 GMT)

England’s final home match of the 2022 Championship comes against Ireland, whose sole victory at Twickenham in the last 12 years came in 2018.

On that occasion, tries from Garry Ringrose, CJ Stander and Jacob Stockdale secured a 24-15 win in south-west London that sealed the Grand Slam for Ireland.

Two years ago, England won the fixture 24-12 thanks to tries from George Ford, Elliot Daly and Luke Cowan-Dickie, while Andy Farrell’s side returned to Twickenham during the Autumn Nations Cup nine months later and were beaten 18-7.

France v England, Stade de France, 19 March (KO: 20:00 GMT)

The 2022 Six Nations should come to a close with a bang as the latest instalment of ‘Le Crunch’ headlines Super Saturday.

Fans of both teams will hope that England and France arrive at the Stade de France with the Championship on the line.

England have won only four matches against France in Paris in the Six Nations era, with the last of those coming six years ago.

France won the most recent meeting of the sides at the Stade de France, as Vincent Rattez and Charles Ollivon (twice) crossed the whitewash in a 24-17 victory for Les Bleus.

England’s Six Nations 2022 fixtures (all times GMT)

Scotland v ENGLAND, Murrayfield, 5 February, 16:45
Italy v ENGLAND, Stadio Olimpico, 13 February, 15:00
ENGLAND v Wales, Twickenham, 26 February, 16:45
ENGLAND v Ireland, Twickenham, 12 March, 16:45
France v ENGLAND, Stade de France, 19 March, 20:00

READ MORE: Wayne Pivac: “Momentum is everything” in the Six Nations >>