Jonathan Webb has been elected by the World Rugby Council to serve on the international federation’s Executive Committee.

Three members of Council, which comprises of 51 regional association and national member union representatives from across the global game, stood for election – Cristina Flores (Rugby Americas North), Ada Milby (Asia Rugby) and Dr Jonathan Webb (RFU) - for the vacant seat on the 12-member committee.  

Jonathan Webb, a knee surgeon and former England player, received 29 of the 50 votes cast from an available 51 votes on the Council and will serve on the committee for the remainder of the current four-year term through to 2024.

Webb said: “I am honoured to be elected to the Executive Committee and look forward to contributing alongside my committee colleagues, particularly in the priority area of player welfare, at what is an important time for the game. I would like to thank the Council for their support and also acknowledge Ada and Cristina, who were excellent candidates.”

World Rugby Chair, Sir Bill Beaumont added: “I would like to congratulate Jonathan on his election to the Executive Committee. He brings a wealth of medical experience to the committee, furthering our ongoing commitment to ensuring that player welfare matters are at the heart of our decision-making processes as we look to deliver the ambitious goals of our new strategic plan for the betterment and growth of the sport at all levels.”

The electronic voting process ahead of the meeting was independently run and audited by PwC Switzerland.

Council also approved an independent-led governance reform programme that will further female, independent, player and nation/region representation across World Rugby’s decision-making structures. Within this package, there is a commitment to move from the current 30 per cent to at least 40 per cent female representation across all committees.

Exco membership: Bill Beaumont (Chair), Bernard Laporte (Vice-Chair), Mark Alexander, Khaled Babbou, Bart Campbell, John Jeffrey, Bob Latham, Brett Robinson, Jonathan Webb, Lord Mervyn Davies (Independent), Angela Ruggiero (Independent), Alan Gilpin (CEO).