The Junior Wallabies squad for the World Rugby U20 Championship 2019 has been confirmed with the 28-man squad set to depart for Argentina at the end of the month.

Australia will take on Italy, Ireland and England in Pool B of the Championship as the side looks to continue their winning habit following an undefeated Oceania Rugby U20 Championship campaign. 

World Rugby U20 Championship veterans Esei Ha’angana, Will Harrison, Trevor Hosea, Isaac Lucas, Fraser McReight, Josh Nasser, Pat Tafa, Semisi Tupou and Michael Wood have all regained selection following impressive performances on the Gold Coast and were a part of the Junior Wallabies campaign in France last year.

The squad is also set to welcome Australian schoolboy Nick Frost, having recently signed with the Brumbies from the Crusaders Academy.

Other standout players include Eastwood’s Mark Nawaqanitawase, Sydney University’s Angus Bell, Brothers’ Harry Wilson and Australian Sevens speedster Triston Reilly, following strong performances during the Junior Wallabies Oceania campaign.

Australia kicks off their campaign at Club de Rugby Ateneo Inmaculada, Santa Fe against Italy on Tuesday 4 June.

“Following on from Oceania everyone is quite keen to get together again as a group," said head coach Jason Gilmore. “We’re drawn a strong pool, it contains some tough sides but we’re looking to build on our experiences from Oceania and take each game as it comes.

“Our opposition will be fresh off their Six Nations campaign and as a team we are excited by the challenge that it will offer.”

The Junior Wallabies will reconvene for a camp at the Sydney Academy of Sport and Recreation in Narrabeen on 18 May. The side will also play a warm-up match against the Australian Barbarians on 22 May at Chatswood Oval before departing for Argentina.

Australia squad

Forwards: Bo Abra, Angus Bell, Darcy Breen, Joe Cotton, Nick Frost, Esei Ha’angana, Will Harris, Trevor Hosea, Lachlan Lonergan, Fraser McReight (captain), Josh Nasser, Pat Tafa, Carlo Tizzano, Rhys Van Nek, Harry Wilson, Michael Wood.

Backs: Ben Donaldson, Will Harrison, Noah Lolesio, Michael McDonald, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Kye Oates, Triston Reilly, Sione Tui, Semisi Tupou, Joey Walton.