Kenya have become the latest country to name their Sevens squad to compete at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow on 26-27 July.

National 15-a-side number eight Martin Owila makes his Sevens debut as the Kenyans start in Pool B at Ibrox alongside South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago and Cook Islands. 

Pool A – New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Barbados

Defending champions New Zealand have three survivors from the team that struck gold in Delhi four years ago. DJ Forbes, Sherwin Stowers and Tim Mikkelson are selected by coach Gordon Tietjens who has also recalled Pita Ahki, who played in the Rugby Sevens World Cup winning team last year, and the Chiefs’ Declan O’Donnell.

Forbes will once again lead the team as New Zealand bid for a fifth successive Commonwealth Games gold medal.

Tietjens said: “Winning a gold medal at a Commonwealth Games is very special. There is nothing better than seeing a player being presented with a gold medal and listening to the anthem. I am confident if these guys can perform to the best of their ability and be on top of their game we can go very well.”

Squad: Pita Ahki (North Harbour), Scott Curry (Manawatu, Sam Dickson (Canterbury), DJ Forbes, captain (Counties Manukau), Bryce Heem (Tasman), Akira Ioane (Auckland), Gillies Kaka (Hawke’s Bay), Ben Lam (Auckland), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Declan O’Donnell (Waikato), Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau), Joe Webber (Waikato).

Canada will be captained by John Moonlight in Glasgow, but fellow HSBC Sevens World Series Dream Team 2013/14 member Phil Mack is ruled out through injury with the influential Nanyak Dala.

Canada, who will be without their long time coach Geraint John after he took up the head coach's role with Australia's Sevens team, face a re-match with the team that beat them in the final of the Scottish round of the recent World Series, defending champions New Zealand, with other Pool A matches against Games hosts Scotland and Barbados.

Squad: Connor Braid (Victoria, British Columbia), Justin Douglas (Vancouver, British Columbia), Sean Duke (Vancouver, British Columbia), Mike Fuailefau (Victoria, British Columbia), Luca Hammond (Toronton, Ontario), Ciaran Hearn (Conception Bay, Newfoundland), Nathan Hirayama (Richmond, British Columbia), Harry Jones (West Vancouver, British Columbia), John Moonlight (Pickering, Ontario), Mike Scholz (Oakville, Ontario), Conor Trainor (Vancouver, British Columbia), Sean White (Victoria, British Columbia).

Scotland head coach Stephen Gemmell has included test internationals Stuart Hogg and Sean Lamont in the host nation’s Sevens team. Lamont, who last played for Scotland Sevens in 2009, comes into the squad with 86 international caps and having also been a part of the 2002 Commonwealth Games squad in Manchester, while Hogg, capped 24 times for Scotland and a British and Irish Lion, replaces Tommy Seymour who was injured while on tour with Scotland this summer.

Squad: Richie Vernon, James Eddie, James Johnstone, Roddy Grant, Scott Riddell, Colin Shaw, Lee Jones, Colin Gregor, Scott Wight, Mark Bennett, Sean Lamont, Stuart Hogg

Pool B – South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad & Tobago

Neil Powell has confirmed a late change to his squad to compete at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland.

Cheslin Kolbe has been withdrawn by Western Province due to a knee injury and he will be replaced by Mark Richards. 

This follows the earlier withdrawals of established Springbok 15-man code players, Bryan Habana and Schalk Brits, who were not released by their respective French and English leagues.

Neil Powell has also included Cornal Hendricks, who made his full Springboks debut this summer, as well as regulars Frankie Horne, Kyle Brown, Chris Dry, Cecil Afrika, Justin Geduld, Branco du Preez and Seabelo Senatla. Super Rugby player Warren Whiteley (Lions), completes the squad.

Former Boks coach Paul Treu has named his Kenya Sevens squad to compete at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow on 26-27 July. National 15-a-side number eight Martin Owila is replaced by Biko Adema after being unable to get his visa processed in time, as the Kenyans start in Pool B at Ibrox alongside South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago and Cook Islands. 
Squad: Andrew Amonde (captain), Collins Injera (vice captain), Oscar Ouma, Martin Owila, Patrice Agunda, Felix Ayange, Billy Odhiambo, Humphrey Kayange, Tonny Owuor, Michael Wanjala, Michael Agevi, Dennis Ombachi 

Pool C – Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Wales have named Exeter University student Luke Treharne as a surprise un-capped inclusion in the Wales Sevens squad, which also features returns to Sevens for trio Gareth Davies, Jevon Groves and Will Harries.

The tournament will also be a Sevens swansong for captain Adam Thomas and James Davies before they embark on regional careers with Cardiff Blues and the Scarlets respectively.

Squad: Adam Thomas (Captain - Pontypridd), Craig Price (Scarlets), Iolo Evans (Carmarthen Quins), James Davies (Scarlets), Jevon Groves (Cardiff Blues), Luke Treharne (Exeter University), Lee Williams (Carmarthen Quins), Gareth Davies (Cardiff Blues), Will Harries (Unattached), Gareth Owen (Scarlets), Luke Morgan (Bridgend), Alex Webber (Pontypridd).

Samoa head coach Fuimaono Titimaea Tafua has revealed his squad for the Games in Glasgow and includes former captains Afa Aiono and Lolo Lui. 

Squad: Afa Aiono, Levi Asifaamatala, Faalemiga Selesele, Lio Lolo, Saena Vili, Alatasi Tupou, Lolo Lui, Reupena Levasa, Tulolo Tulolo, Etiuefa Fiavaai, Samoa Toloa, Sonny Fereti 

Pool D – England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda

England Sevens newcomers Charlie Hayter and Mark Bright are rewarded for their performances in the FIRA-AER Sevens Grand Prix with a place in England’s 12-man Commonwealth Games squad. Strong-running centre Hayter, who was recently released by Wasps to pursue a full-time career with England Sevens, and London Scottish forward Bright helped England win the second leg of the Grand Prix in Moscow a fortnight ago.

They are two of a group of eight players set to make their Commonwealth Games debuts while John Brake, Dan Norton, Tom Powell and James Rodwell bring the experience of having competed in the 2010 Delhi Games.

Squad: Daniel Bibby, John Brake, Mark Bright, Philip Burgess, Michael Ellery, Charles Hayter, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Tom Mitchell (captain), Daniel Norton, Tom Powell, James Rodwell, Marcus Watson

Australia welcome back Liam Gill and Sean McMahon to their squad as they bid to go one better than in Delhi four years ago. Wallaby and Queensland Reds player Gill was a member of the 2010 Sevens side that picked up a silver medal in 2010, while Australian Under 20s captain and Melbourne Rebels player McMahon was a regular on the Sevens World Series circuit as recently as last year.

The 12-man squad - new coach Geraint John's first selection - also includes a number of Sevens stalwarts, including the in-form Cameron Clark who was recently picked in the IRB Rugby Sevens Dream Team 2013/14.

Squad: Ed Jenkins. (Sydney University, NSW), Jesse Parahi* (Northern Suburbs, NSW), Tom Cusack* (Canberra Royals, ACT), Sean McMahon* (Endeavour Hills, VIC), Sam Myers* (Northern Suburbs, NSW), Liam Gill (Sunnybank, QLD), Con Foley* (University of Queensland, QLD), Tom Lucas* (Sunnybank, QLD), James Stannard (Souths, QLD), Cameron Clark* (Northern Suburbs, NSW), Pama Fou* (Souths, QLD), Greg Jeloudev* (Sydney University, NSW). *Commonwealth Games debut