The West Indies Rugby Union (WIRU) has announced its squad of 12 to compete at the Cathay Pacific / Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens, the fifth event on the IRB Sevens World Series on 27–29 March 2009.

Of the 24 teams set to take part in Hong Kong, the combined West Indies side is one of only five not to have taken part in the recent Rugby World Cup Sevens. The other four are Asian sides China, Chinese Taipei, Korea and Sri Lanka.

The 12 man outfit comprises three players from Guyana, two from Trinidad & Tobago, two from Bahamas, three from Jamaica and one from each of Bermuda and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The WIRU announcement follows the conclusion of a three-day training camp under coach Joe Whipple and attended by 18 players who had been shortlisted for selection.

The team includes three players currently playing rugby in England: Jamaican James Jones from Premiership club Sale, countryman Luther Burrell currently with Leeds and Kevin Mc Kenzie from Guyana, who has recently joined Bracknell.

None of the three joined the team in camp but they will join the rest of the suad for a further four-day get together with the Canadian team at their new new high performance centre in Victoria, Vancouver, on 18-21 March.

Whipple remarked that the recent trial games were probably the most intense that players have experienced in the Caribbean.

"Having played successfully in build-up tournaments in Trinidad & Tobago’s International Sevens in December and the Punta del Este Sevens in Uruguay in January, I think that the Team is the best prepared yet," he said.

The West Indies team will arrive in Hong Kong on 23 March.

Rugby West Indies team: Albert Larose (Guyana) ; Claudius Butts (Guyana); Kevin McKenzie (Guyana); Kelson Figaro (Trinidad & Tobago); Andre Cabera (Trinidad & Tobago); Hollis Green (St. Vincent & the Grenadines); Jeremico Cooper (Bahamas)
Devon Woodsede (Bahamas); James Jones (Jamaica); Luther Burrell (Jamaica); Nicholas Fraser (Jamaica); Tom Healy ( Bermuda)

Non travelling reserves: Joshua Clark (Cayman); Michael Wilson (Cayman); Andrew Bain (Bahamas); Duran Beadle (Bahamas); Jason Clarke (Trinidad & Tobago); Keron Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago); Richard Staglon (Guyana)

Staff: Joe Whipple (Head Coach); Curtis Nero (Manager); Martin Varga (Physio)