The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series, a new and exciting international rugby sevens competition, will be launched in February 2020 to boost rugby sevens’ development across the globe.

The competition also acts as the new promotion and relegation system for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series with the men's and women's Challenger Series winners replacing the bottom ranked core team on the World Series for the following season.

The men's Challenger Series 2020 will feature two rounds to be played in South America. The teams who will compete are Brazil, Chile, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Tonga, Uganda, Uruguay and Zimbabwe. They will be joined by three invitational teams from the Americas in Colombia, Mexico and Paraguay.

The top eight core teams after the two rounds will then compete in the final play-off tournament for a spot in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, replacing the bottom placed core team in the World Series in the following season.

World Rugby is currently examining all options in relation to hosting a third and final round of the men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series, which was due to be held in Hong Kong in April, taking into consideration the dynamic and ongoing situation regarding Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) and an already full Olympic Sevens calendar year. Further updates will be issued at a later stage.

The women's Challenger Series 2020 will involve a standalone event at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch, South Africa, featuring 12 teams who have qualified from the six World Rugby regions.

The participating teams are: Argentina, Belgium, China, Colombia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Scotland and hosts South Africa.