Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has announced his squad to face South Africa in Marseille on Sunday with Jack Dempsey edging out Matt Fagerson to start at number eight.

1 Pierre Schoeman
2 George Turner
3 Zander Fagerson
4 Richie Gray
5 Grant Gilchrist
6 Jamie Ritchie (c)
7 Rory Darge
8 Jack Dempsey
9 Ben White
10 Finn Russell
11 Duhan van der Merwe
12 Sione Tuipulotu
13 Huw Jones
14 Darcy Graham
15 Blair Kinghorn


16 David Cherry
17 Jamie Bhatti
18 WP Nel
19 Scott Cummings
20 Matt Fagerson
21 Ali Price
22 Cameron Redpath
23 Ollie Smith 

  • Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has named 12 players with Rugby World Cup experience in his matchday 23, including nine in the starting XV. Richie Gray, Grant Gilchrist and Finn Russell will play in their third World Cup.
  • There are four players with more than 50 caps to their name, including Scotland’s longest-ever servant Richie Gray, whose career spans a record 13 years and 7 months.
  • Darcy Graham, who has scored seven tries in his last four tests, has been declared fit and will face South Africa for the first time after coming through training this week unscathed.
  • Scotland captain Jamie Ritchie was successful with all 16 of his tackles the last time Scotland played South Africa in November 2021.
  • Duhan van der Merwe has beaten 61 defenders in 2023, 25 more than any other player.
  • Finn Russell has made 16 offloads in 2023, six more than anyone else.