At the end of the 2015-16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, the teams all gathered at Twickenham to celebrate the end of another enthralling season.

It's been a season where six different sides have shared the 10 Cup titles on offer, meaning seven in the last 11, and one that has set the scene beautifully for the sport to make its debut in the Olympic Games in August.

The end of season function was a chance to celebrate the players, the coaches and the team personnel that are the ambassadors and role models of the sport, and here we give the lowdown on the evening's events.

HSBC Dream Team: For the fourth year an HSBC Dream Team was named which took into consideration players' performances across the season and previous nominations in the individual tournament dream teams. The South African duo of Kwagga Smith and Seabelo Senatla were both named for a second successive year, and were joined by two Fijians, an American, a Samoan and a Frenchman. In the forwards Jasa Veremalua, who was nominated in four dream teams across the season, and Samoan captain Faalemiga Selesele join Smith, while in the backs Perry Baker, a rookie of the year nominee last season, Virimi Vakatawa and Fiji's captain Osea Kolinisau joined Senatla in collecting the award.

Rookie of the year: The two previous winners have been Ambrose Curtis and Jerry Tuwai. This year the nominees were Bautista Ezcurra, Pheonix Hunapo-Nofoa, Henry Hutchison and Regan Ware. Nineteen-year-old Hutchison was chosen by the TV commentators to receive the award, which he was presented by Collins Injera, who set his own record at Twickenham, overtaking Santiago Gomez Cora at the top of the try-scoring charts.

DHL Impact player: The DHL Impact Player accolade is awarded to the player who demonstrates the most consistency in delivering the greatest ‘impact’ in their performances. Heading into the final round in London it was tight between Veremalua, Kolinisau and Senatla. Veremalua held his advantage to the last, however, with 116 tackles, 40 linebreaks, 69 offloads and 135 carries leaving him 13 ahead of Kolinisau.

Top try scorer: Despite the best efforts of Baker, Samoa Toloa, Vladimir Ostroushko, Collins Injera and Savenaca Rawaca, the winner for a second successive year was Senatla. Eleven tries in Paris helped him take his tally to 66 for the season.

Fair play award: For a second year running Australia collected the award for the fairest team on the series, as voted for by the referees. There was also recognition for Rasta Rasivhenge and Federico Anselmi who both refereed their 200th match across this season.