World Rugby announced the match officials for the HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series 2016-17 in October.


Olympic gold medal match referee Alhambra Nievas, who shared the World Rugby Referee Award 2016 with Rasta Rasivhenge, returns to the series while three former women's internationals have been selected on the panel in Joy Neville (Ireland), Rebecca Mahoney (New Zealand) and Hollie Davidson (Scotland).

The 2016-17 women's selection panel is chaired by Anthony Buchanan (Wales) and features former referees Clare Daniels (England) and David Keane (Ireland) as well as Ricardo Bordcoch (Argentina) and World Rugby High Performance Sevens Referee Manager Paddy O'Brien.
Buchanan said: "Following on from the success of the Olympic Games in Rio, the selectors were delighted with the interest shown by unions in nominating referees for the 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

"This is the start of the four-year cycle leading into Tokyo 2020 and it is extremely pleasing to note the number of ex-international players now taking up the whistle.

"Many of those who officiated over the last number of years have moved on to 15s or have retired and so now is the time to bring through the new generation of match officials that will bring us to the next Olympic Games."

Women's panel 

Aimee Barrett (SARU)
Beatrice Benvenuti (FIR)
Sara Cox (RFU)
Ben Crouse (SARU)
Hollie Davidson (SRU)
Adam Jones (WRU)
Sakurako Kawasaki (JRFU)
Rose La Breche (Rugby Canada)
Rebecca Mahoney (NZR)
Joy Neville (IRFU)
Alhambra Nievas (FER)
Amy Perrett (ARU)