The women's sevens series takes place in six global destinations in 2016-17, underlining World Rugby's commitment to the ongoing growth and development of women's rugby around the world. 

The 2016-17 series was the fifth for the women's teams. New Zealand claimed the first three series, and the 2016-17 one.

Coupled with the spike in interest after the Olympic Games, the series has sparked significant growth in the women's game with increased appetite for broadcast, live streaming and social media. In fact, women's rugby is now one of the fastest-growing team sports in the world.

The Women's Sevens Series concept is in line with key strategic objectives set out in the World Rugby Women’s Rugby Plan, expanding the women’s Sevens international competition model, particularly at the elite level of the game.

Please click here to download the Review of the 2015/2016 season

The core teams for the 2016-17 season were : Australia, New Zealand, Canada, England, France, USA, Russia, Fiji, Spain, Brazil and Ireland. The 12th team at each round will be an invitational team.