Global Partners
TurfEquipment Banner 2

Olympic Repechage

Olympic repechage home

The World Rugby Sevens Repechage tournament is the final part of the global qualifying process. The repechage tournament is a one-off event to determine the final two women’s and one men’s teams to qualify for the rugby sevens competition at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, which were delayed until 2021.

Twelve women's and 10 men's teams will compete in a round robin at a competition in Monaco on 19-20 June, 2021, with two women's teams and one men's team booking their place for Tokyo.

Repechage form guide: men's

Four years ago Spain performed heroics to beat Samoa in the final to qualify for Rio 2016. This time, they were too far off the pace to qualify through the world series and they narrowly missed out on qualifying for the repechage via the Rugby Europe Olympic qualification tournament.

This time, France will be among the frontrunners to win the tournament and qualify for Tokyo 2020. Fiji’s gold medal-winning coach, Ben Ryan, has been working with the French team as a consultant. Fellow European powerhouse Ireland could push them all the way, though, having risen quickly up through the ranks after qualifying for the world series as a core team in 2019. Samoa will also be eager to banish the disappointment of 2016, while Jamaica’s Crocs will hope to catch the eye against the top teams.

Repechage form guide: women's

With a fourth-place finish on the truncated World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 and local support behind them, France will be disappointed if they don’t take one of the two places available in the women’s event.

Having experienced the joy of Rio 2016, Colombia will be equally determined to make it to a second Olympics and could challenge series regulars France and Russia.

Nations already qualified for Tokyo 2020

In the men’s competition, Fiji, USA, New Zealand and South Africa qualified via the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and Japan as hosts. In addition, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Kenya and Korea have booked their places via regional qualifiers.

In the women’s, New Zealand, USA, Canada and Australia qualified through the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and Japan as hosts. In addition, regional qualifier winners are Brazil, China, Fiji, Great Britain and Kenya.