The final men's squads for the HSBC Sydney Sevens at Spotless Stadium in Sydney Olympic Park have been announced 24 hours before kick-off on Saturday 2 February.


The HSBC Sydney Sevens is the fourth round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series. Fiji and USA currently share top place in the series standings. while the USA.


Fiji won the last two series tournaments in Cape Town and Hamilton and are chasing a hat-trick of series titles in Sydney this weekend. Fiji are in Pool A with Samoa, England and Japan.

USA have been runner-ups in all three tournaments this series and are drawn in Pool B. Despite the loss of World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year Perry Baker through injury in Hamilton last week, USA are keen to go one further and win a long-awaited tournament this year. USA are joined in Pool B by Canada, Kenya and France.

Pool C contains Hamilton Cup semi-finalists New Zealand and fifth-placed Scotland as well as Spain and Wales. New Zealand lies third in the current series standings.

Current HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions South Africa were also semi-finalists in Hamilton and lie fourth in the standings. South Africa are drawn in Pool D with last year’s HSBC Sydney Sevens winners Australia, and Argentina and Tonga.

The men's tournament kicks off at 09:00 local time (GMT+11) on Saturday 2 February when Scotland plays Spain. Follow the action on and @WorldRugby7s