• HSBC Sydney Sevens acts as round three of the women’s world series
  • New Zealand current women’s series leaders
  • Papua New Guinea confirmed as invitational team
  • Tickets for Friday (1 Feb) are free

The stars of sevens will resume the race for Olympic Games qualification at the HSBC Sydney Sevens on 1-3 February, the third round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series 2019

Hosted for the first time at Spotless Stadium in Sydney Olympic Park, the HSBC Sydney Sevens features the 11 series core teams and invitational team - Papua New Guinea.

After a thrilling second series round in Dubai, where Canada reached their first Cup final, and all series points counting towards Tokyo 2020 qualification, all eyes will be on Sydney and who can challenge the reigning world and commonwealth champions, New Zealand.


Current series leaders New Zealand will face England, France and Papua New Guinea in Pool A.

Canada are set to face Russia in a replay of last year’s bronze final in Pool B, where Ireland and Fiji also feature

Hosts and defending HSBC Sydney Sevens champions Australia – who in 2018 created history as the first men’s or women’s team to win a series event without conceding a try or point – will take on Glendale runners-up USA, China and Spain in Pool C.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “The opening two rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series have been highly-competitive as teams compete for not only the series title, but also Olympic qualification. We are looking forward to seeing the world’s best sevens players in action and have no doubt that HSBC Sydney Sevens will deliver a scintillating weekend of rugby sevens.”

The HSBC Sydney Sevens takes place from 1-3 February with the opening day of the women’s event on Friday 1 February free to attend. The 16-team men’s tournament takes place on 2-3 February and to purchase weekend or single tickets, visit www.sydney7s.com.au.

For more information on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series visit www.world.rugby/sevens-series.