Final squads have been announced ahead of round two of the men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2019, which kicks off at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.

New Zealand currently lead the standings after round one where they secured their first Dubai title since 2009. USA and England sit in second and third respectively in the standings with Australia in fourth. 

There is everything to play for this season as teams compete not only to take home the coveted series title but also secure their ticket to Tokyo 2020 with the world series acting as principle route for Olympic qualification.

Defending HSBC Cape Town Sevens champions New Zealand will join hosts South Africa, Samoa and invitational team Zimbabwe in Pool A.

Pool B features Argentina, runners-up in Cape Town last year, Spain, Dubai runners-up USA and new core team Japan.

Dubai bronze medallists England head Pool C and will face Fiji, France and Kenya.

Pool D includes Australia, Scotland, Canada and Wales.


The competition kicks off at 10:15 local time (GMT+2) on Saturday, 8 December when Canada take on Scotland. Follow the action on and @WorldRugby7s