The pools and schedule for the final round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series have been announced, with some world-class matches set to thrill fans in the Auvergne region of France on 28-29 May. 

Australia, seeking their first ever series title, will face hosts France as well as Fiji and Ireland in Pool C. Tim Walsh’s side won the first three rounds of the series in Dubai, Sao Paulo and Atlanta and finished third at the last stop in Canada, giving them a 12-point lead over New Zealand in the standings. 


As winners of the last round in Canada, England will play Spain, USA and series debutants Kenya in Pool A at the Stade Gabriel-Montpied in the heart of the Auvergne region.


Defending series champions New Zealand, runners-up in both Atlanta and Langford last month, will face Canada, Russia and Japan in Pool B. The action gets underway with New Zealand against Russia at 11:00 on 28 May.  


Meanwhile, the format and qualification process for the 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series has been confirmed.

The top nine teams at the end of the 2015-16 series will automatically qualify for the following season as core teams. The remaining two places will be taken using the rankings from the Women’s Global Repechage tournament to qualify one team and the rankings from the Olympic Games to qualify another team.  

One place in each tournament will be designated for the host union (if not already pre-qualified as a core team) or for a union which will be invited by World Rugby.

Therefore the 11 core teams for the 2016-17 series will be determined as follows:   

  • The top nine teams from the 2015-16 series
  • The highest ranked team from the Global Repechage, that has not already qualified
  • The highest ranked team from the Olympics, that has not already qualified

All the action from the final round of the HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series will be broadcast around the globe and streamed live on For more information on where you can watch, click here

For tickets for the series finale in Clermont-Ferrand, click here for more information.