The World Rugby Sevens Awards panel, comprising former international sevens players and series commentators, voted to determine this year’s nominees and winners across the six men’s and women’s award categories. Fans then voted to determine the winners of the Pressure Play Award and the UL Mark of Excellence Award. All categories are listed below. 

The week-long HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Awards celebrations also acknowledge 2020 series champions New Zealand, who won both the women’s and men’s titles, alongside Olympic champions Australia and Canada who finished second and third respectively in the women’s series, and South Africa and Fiji who placed second and third in the men’s.

HSBC Dream Team

The best of the best. The Awards panel, including HSBC Ambassadors Danielle Waterman and Bryan Habana, will determine the best seven men’s and women’s players to make up the HSBC Dream Teams.

Men's HSBC Dream Team

  • Scott Curry (New Zealand)
  • Tavite Veredamu (France)
  • JC Pretorius (South Africa)
  • Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)
  • Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
  • Aminiasi Tuimaba (Fiji)
  • Selvyn Davids (South Africa)

Women’s HSBC Dream Team

  • Brittany Benn (Canada)
  • Sharni Williams (Australia)
  • Ruby Tui (New Zealand)
  • Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)
  • Ghislaine Landry (Canada)
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
  • Kristi Kirshe (USA)

UL Mark of Excellence

The Awards panel, together with UL Executive Mike Galeski, selected a shortlist of nominees from the list of UL Mark of the Excellence Award tournament winners on the 2020 series. Fans then had the final say in determining the moment from the men’s and women’s shortlists which stood out as the biggest of the 2020 series.

Men’s winner: Dan Norton (England) - Dan Norton’s achievement of becoming the first sevens player to score 350 tries on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series at the HSBC Sydney Sevens

Women’s winner: Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand) - Tyla Nathan-Wong for becoming the first Black Ferns Sevens player – and second overall – to reach 1,000 series points at the HSBC Sydney Sevens

Pressure Play Award

The Awards panel selected a shortlist of three men’s and three women’s players with sevens fans having the final say in voting for their favourite pressure play moment of the men’s and women’s series.

Men’s winner: Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji) - HSBC Sydney Sevens – Cup final try against South Africa

Women’s winner: Lina Guerin (France) - HSBC Sydney Sevens – Semi-final try against New Zealand

Capgemini Momentum Tracker

A stats-based award using Capgemini’s unique tool, the Momentum Tracker, which analyses teams’ performances at individual tournaments and across the series to assess their capacity to improve throughout the season. The award goes to the team which recorded the highest momentum score on the tracker as a result of quantified performance and evolution scores.

  • Men’s winner: Ireland
  • Women’s winner: Fiji

Gilbert Top Try Scorer

An award for the top try-scorer on the men’s and women’s series.

  • Men’s winner: Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
  • Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

DHL Impact Player

A stats-based award which statistically analyses individual players’ performances measured against four key criteria – offloads, carries, line-breaks and tackles.

  • Men’s winner: Tavite Veredamu (France)
  • Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

Awards Week

A week-long celebration of sevens kicks off with the trophy presentation to HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 champions New Zealand, who were awarded both the women’s and men’s titles.

Exclusive interviews with award winners will be broadcast across World Rugby digital channels as part of the dedicated HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series Awards week.