Seedings and draw

In both the women’s and the men’s rugby sevens competitions there will be 12 teams, split into three pools of four for the opening group stages.

The make-up of the pools is determined by the teams being seeded one to 12, based on the points they have accumulated over the past two seasons of the World Rugby Sevens Series, comprising multiple events throughout 2014-15 and 2015-16.

The four teams who qualified directly for the Olympic Games by finishing in the top four positions in the 2014-15 World Rugby Sevens Series are guaranteed a top four seeding, with their position determined by their combined points over the two seasons.

Women’s Olympic Games top four seedings

 1st  Australia
 2nd New Zealand
 3rd Canada
 4th   Great Britain

Men’s Olympic Games top four seedings

 1st  Fiji
 2nd South Africa
 3rd New Zealand
 4th   Great Britain

Great Britain’s seeding in both competitions is determined by the series points won by nominated team England.

The remaining teams, including host nation Brazil, are ranked five through 12 based on their performance over the past two seasons. The seedings for nations who are not regular teams in the World Rugby Sevens Series have been determined by the international federation based on their performances in series tournaments and also in other World Rugby tournaments over the past two seasons. 

The pools for the Olympic Games men's event are as follows:

 Pool A Pool B Pool C
 Fiji South Africa New Zealand
 USA Australia Great Britain
 Argentina France Kenya
 Brazil Spain Japan

The pools for the Olympic Games women's event are as follows:

 Pool A Pool B Pool C
 Australia New Zealand Canada
 USA France Great Britain
 Fiji Spain Brazil
 Colombia Kenya Japan




Each team plays the three other nations in their pool over the first three match sessions with three points for a win, two for a draw and one for a loss.

The best eight teams will then proceed to the first round of knock-out matches, the quarter finals.

Those will be the three teams who top their pool, along with the three teams placed second in each pool and also the two best third-placed teams, based on competition points and then points difference.

The draw for the quarter-finals in both the men’s and women’s competition will then be determined as follows:

QF1Winner Pool A v 2nd best 3rd place
QF2Runner-up Pool C v Runner-up Pool B
QF3Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool A
QF4Winner Pool B v best 3rd place

The draw for the semi-finals will be determined as follows:

SF1Winner QF1 v Winner QF2
SF2Winner QF3 v Winner QF4