TOKYO, 17 Oct - In a shock move, Australia have named 19-year-old Jordan Petaia to partner Samu Kerevi in the midfield against England in the first Rugby World Cup 2019 quarter-final on Saturday in Oita.

Two weeks ago, Petaia, pictured, had never played for the Wallabies and now, following two starts on the left wing, the teenager will line up at outside-centre in the team's biggest match since contesting the final four years ago.

Head coach Michael Cheika has clearly seen enough from Petaia, who scored one try and set up another in a dazzling 40-minute debut in the Wallabies third Pool D match against Uruguay, as he seeks to counter England's power game with all-out attack. James O'Connor, who started three of the four pool-stage matches, makes way for the wonderkid who has always professed his preferred position is No.13.

The changes continue throughout what is a thrilling, if new-look, backline. Christian Lealiifano returns at fly-half and will partner the vastly experienced Will Genia. It is just the second time the duo have started at 9 and 10 together and marks the fourth new half-back pairing for the Wallabies at Rugby World Cup 2019. 

In keeping with Cheika's determination to play with the ball in hand, Kurtley Beale retains his place at full-back on the provision that he continues to pass the relevant protocols after being concussed against Georgia. Reece Hodge slots in on the right wing after completing a three-match suspension for foul play, with Marika Koroibete moving to the left. The dependable Dane Haylett-Petty drops out of the match-day 23.

By contrast, the forward pack includes just the widely predicted two changes from the Georgia match, with skipper Michael Hooper returning on the openside and prop Allan Alaalatoa resuming his position at tight-head prop. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto provides the back-row cover on the bench, with the rampaging Taniela Tupou preferred to veteran Sekope Kepu who misses out on the 23.

1. Scott Sio
2. Tolu Latu
3. Allan Alaalatoa
4. Izack Rodda
5. Rory Arnold
6. David Pocock
7. Michael Hooper (capt.)
8. Isi Naisarani
9. Will Genia
10. Christian Lealiifano
11. Marika Koroibete
12. Samu Kerevi
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Reece Hodge
15. Kurtley Beale

16. Jordan Uelese
17. James Slipper
18. Taniela Tupou
19. Adam Coleman
20. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
21. Nicholas White
22. Matt To'omua
23. James O'Connor

RNS ln/djk