TOKYO, 17 Oct - Eddie Jones has sprung a number of surprises for England's Rugby World Cup quarter-final with Australia on Saturday, dropping the in-form George Ford to start captain Owen Farrell at fly-half.

This allows Jones to revert to the centre paring of Manu Tuilagi and Henry Slade, who started four of England's five 2019 Six Nations Championship games together.

Crucially, number eight Billy Vunipola has been passed fit having recovered from the ankle injury he suffered against Argentina and starts alongside brother Mako, pictured top, who replaces Joe Marler at loose-head prop in his first England start since February.

George Kruis, England's best lineout technician, drops to the bench and is replaced by big-tackling Courtney Lawes, who will pack down alongside Maro Itoje in the second row.

On the bench, Lewis Ludlam is the back-row replacement, with Ford and Jonathan Joseph offering options in the backs.


1. Mako Vunipola
2. Jamie George
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Maro Itoje
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Curry
7. Sam Underhill
8. Billy Vunipola
9. Ben Youngs
10. Owen Farrell (capt.)
11 .Jonny May
12. Manu Tuilagi
13. Henry Slade
14. Anthony Watson
15. Elliot Daly

16. Luke Cowan-Dickie
17. Joe Marler
18. Dan Cole
19. George Kruis
20. Lewis Ludlam
21. Willi Heinz
22. George Ford
23. Jonathan Joseph

RNS cj/lm