The race to host women’s rugby's showpiece tournament has kicked off, after the International Rugby Board launched the tender process for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014.

Unions are invited to tender for the premier 15-a-side tournament, a process that reflects the exponential growth in profile and appeal of a tournament that continues to elevate the Women’s Game to new heights.

“The phenomenal growth of Women’s Rugby World Cup since its inaugural tournament in 1991 is a major success story for the Women’s Game,” said RWCL Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

“Burgeoning participation, the introduction of Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens and ever increasing standards of competition mean that the Women’s Game has never enjoyed such a strong global profile and the launching of this tender process is another significant milestone for the Women’s Game,” continued Lapasset.

Interested Unions have until 30 October to formally express an interest in tendering for the right to host the tournament. Rugby World Cup Limited will analyse the tenders, prior to the IRB Council selecting the Host Union for WRWC 2014 at its meeting on 12 May 2010.

Women's Rugby World Cup 2010

Preparations continue for the biggest Women’s Rugby World Cup to date in England 2010, with the start of the tournament less than a year away. Pool matches begin on Friday 20 August and the Final is scheduled for Sunday 5 September, in London.

The tournament in England will be the sixth Women’s Rugby World Cup, following earlier editions in Canada, Spain, Netherlands, Scotland and Wales.

“With the exceptionally successful inaugural Women’s RWC Sevens earlier this year, a high profile Women’s RWC tournament in England next year, potential Olympic Games inclusion from 2016 and now the launch of a global tender for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014, these are incredibly exciting times for the Women’s Game,” said IRB Women’s Development Manager Susan Carty.

“Planning and preparation for England 2010 is at an advanced stage, qualification is well under way with 11 teams already qualified and I am sure that the RFU will deliver a wonderful showcase for Women’s Rugby around the world, reaching out to new fans and taking the profile of the Game to a new level. The global Rugby family looks forward to what promises to be another landmark event for the Women’s Game.

“There are more countries than ever playing Women’s Rugby, with 16 teams participating in the qualification process for WRWC 2010, compared to 8 in 2006,” added Carty.

“Any World Cup obviously is very special and I was lucky enough to be involved in the last one, but to have it on home soil really does add that extra something,” said Catherine Spencer, the England Women’s Captain.

Previous Women’s RWC Champions
Year (Venue); Winner; Runner-Up
2006 (Canada); New Zealand; England
2002 (Spain); New Zealand; England
1998 (Netherlands); New Zealand; USA
1994 (Scotland); England; USA
1991 (Wales) USA; England