Spain can celebrate tonight after beating Romania 24-3 to be crowned 2015 Rugby Europe Under 19 champions and secure qualification for next year's World Rugby Under 20 Trophy in Zimbabwe.

In a tight first half Spain dominated possession but were restricted to one unconverted try by full-back, Guillermo Domingues. Romania replied with a penalty from Ionel Melinte to make the score 3-5 to Spain at the break. 

Spain’s dominance grew in the second half. Their forwards often on the front foot were able to secure quicker ball in the second half and unleash a set of well drilled and pacy backs, leading to tries from Pacheco, Parry and Zabala to take the game out of the reach of Romania, sparking celebrations.

Hosts Portugal finished third with a narrow 22-20 victory over the valiant Russians while, in the day’s early games, Belgium overcame a spirited Polish side and the Netherlands drew 22-22 with Germany, the Germans winning on tries scored (3 to 1).

2017 will see the introduction of a two-tier Under 20 Championship in Europe, to align European age grade competitions with those at Six Nations and World levels.

2015 Rugby Europe Under 19 Championship - final Standings
Champions: Spain
Runners-up: Romania
3. Portugal
4. Russia
5. Germany
6. Netherlands
7. Belgium
8. Poland